What lies ahead…

Posted on July 20, 2006. Filed under: ANGUISH, comedy, emotions, love, Teen life |

Today there was a sever blackout in my neighborhhod. This got me thinking about the days when there was no electricity in my village. And then I followed my train of thought. I realised , for the first time in my life, that my dad hailed from a very poor economic background. He decided to do something big with his life , he worked and today he is a bank manager. But what if he hadn’t and he had decided to farm like his younger brother…? Would I have been here today , posting this on my blog ? Would I have had any of the exposure that I have today ?

My thoughts led me to a point when I realised that life is all about making choices and sticking to them. My dad had worked very hard  , on his studies , on his character and for doing something different. He was a bit rebellious , just like I am. He wanted his way with his life , just like I do. He made the choices which he thought were best. Could he have been a more successful man if he had made different choices ? Yes , he would have. But he didn’t.

Now, it’s my turn to wonder if I will be able to do for my kids , all that my dad did for his kids and wife. I don’t even work half as hard as he used to. He is a sharp man , but I’m sharper. I don’t think that it will help , but I am better at making decisions , and once I’ve made one I stick to it. Again I wonder if I will be able to achieve all that I dream of. I understand that I will have to hold my reins myself , be both the horse and the rider. I know that I will have to work to be someone….

Just then the power comes back and I think ” What the hell ! Let me be me , at least for some time. TO hell with responsibility…😉 “

technorati tags:, , , , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “What lies ahead…”

RSS Feed for Teenage Tantrums Comments RSS Feed

well written.

So, like, where in India do you live, where have you lived? I am from a hamlet in New Jersey, now I live in a city of about 160 000 in Washington state near the Pacific Ocean.

Glad you took advantage of your power outage. They’re always annoying, but they do force us to unplug from our umpteen electronic gadgets, take a deep breath, and THINK for a little while without any distractions. And one of the things they make us think about is just how much technology has changed the way we live.

It gives me tremendous hope. Yours is the first generation to really grow up with the Internet. Yours is the first generation to have instant communication with people around the world all the time.

How many generations will it take before that communication leads to the kind of understanding and friendship that prevents wars, ends hate, and allows us to coexist peaceably on this planet? Given the pace of the changes in the world over the past 50 years, I doubt it will be long.

As the Beatles said: “It’s getting better all the time.”

Yup. It’s definitely getting better all the time. But my generation is also the one that’s exposed to sex and the likes ar a very young age. My generation is the one where language is detoriorating , thanks to SMS.

I live in the capital city of my state..

being a horse and a rein holder is difficult. i’ve tried myself.

high school is so douched, trust me. all the teens have lost respect for anybody walking down the street, and they really don’t care about their future until it’s too late. *sigh*

Here are some links that I believe will be interested


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

