In loving memory of…..

Posted on December 17, 2005. Filed under: Teen life |

There’s a glitch. In whose (!) loving memory do I put this down…? Yes. This year has been a black year for our family. There have been three deaths in the family spanned evenly throughout the year. First it was my uncle. (Father’s sister’s husband) He died of blood cancer leaving a wife and a daughter of 9 and odd years. When I visited their place in February 2005, my cousin came running towards us and said that her father had left them forever. She actually said that her mother (my aunt) told her that her father had left them and would never be coming back. This little scene frightened me. I tried to remember if I knew what death meant at the tender age of 9.And I shocked my self by realizing that I had understood what death was then and today I understand it even better. I was always ahead of my age. I have always displayed a maturity beyond the number of summers that I have lived. So I understood what death meant then. But it shocked me even more when I learnt that this little girl had not been told that her father was dead. She was told that he was gone and he had left her forever. I decide to tell her then what I had understood of death. She listened silently while I explained. It was painful to see her burst into tears at the end….. She had not cried at all , even when she was told that her father won’t ever come back……….Then it was my grandfather. I loved that frail old man very much. He used to tell me wonderful stories from our scriptures. He was a soldier for the British and then he became a teacher. I remember that the first person whom I had asked about death was my grand-father…”What is death, grandpa?”, I had asked and he had explained. I’m going to talk about the most painful part of his death. He had visited us a month before his death. He and my parents had a serious quarrel. The next day my dad dropped him at the bus stop and there he said that he was never going to come back.. And true to his word, as he always was, he never came back….. My dad and mom never had the chance to apologize.
The third death was of my dad’s aunt. Although I was never close to her , my dad adored her. In fact he had lived in her place from the age of 9 to 14.She was like a mother for him. Now people might wonder why I posted this. This is my way of saying Sorry to my Grandpa and saying goodbye to my uncle and my dad’s aunt. If you did read this then leave a comment acknowledging that you did and please tell everyone because I want as many people to read this message as possible.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

4 Responses to “In loving memory of…..”

RSS Feed for Teenage Tantrums Comments RSS Feed

That is a moving post–a beautiful tribute and “goodbye”.

I loved them all and I wanted to say Goodbye

Your a gift to the world. Use powers wisely. My eyes are leaking

My cousin forgot to hug my grandpa the last time she saw him before he died. I remember her telling me that, and how much it bugged her (and maybe still does; I don’t know). He knew she loved him. But I’ve never forgotten the look on her face. I’ve never forgotten to hug anybody I love, either, just in case I don’t get another chance.

Your grandfather left you a gift. This is an experience you can carry with you, stashed away in one of the pockets in the back of your mind. Take it out and look at it when you’re mad. It will make you just a little bit better at forgiving … and at saying “I love you” and knowing that you mean it, even through the fog of temporary anger. Sometimes you have to say it just like that — “I’m mad as hell right now, but I love you anyway, whether you like it or not” — but that’s OK. It still counts.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...